Payroll Administrator

Closing Date : 23 May

View Payroll Administrator Details

< >

Personal Support Assistant(s)

This job is closed and is displayed for reference only. 

Organisation:Direct Payments 

Working Hours: Part Time , Hours per week - 28.25 

Salary:£15 per hour - Pro-Rata 

Appointment Type:Permanent 

Location:Thorpe Astley, Leicester, Leicestershire, LE3 

Reference:DP0423 

Closing date:28 February 2022 at midnight 


I am a young man (21 years old) who lives at home with my mum and twin sister and two small dogs in Thorpe Astley on the outskirts of Leicester.  I now need to recruit some new Personal Assistants to support me due to one of my current workers relocating and additional hours that have been awarded.
  
Hours to be covered:
Monday - Friday 07.30 - 15.00 @ 2:1
Monday - Friday 17.00- 19.00 10 @ 2:1 (personal care call) 
Weekends - 10 hours floating support
  
Despite having autism and an associated learning disability, physical disability, visual impairment and epilepsy I am a loving, smiley and engaging young man when I am feeling well, and I am familiar and comfortable in my surroundings and the people around me.
 
I am looking for PA’s with an upbeat personality that can make a positive difference in my life, it essential that you must be physically active and be prepared to go on long walks in all weathers.
 
I enjoy a range of leisure activities including accessing my hot tub, trampolining, and going on my trike and it is essential that my PA’s are willing and able to drive my mobility vehicle.
The role will involve you assisting me with all aspects of personal care and my risk assessment has identified that for safety reasons I need 2:1 support for these tasks. My PA’s will need to prepare my meals and assist me with eating and drinking being aware that there is a high risk of choking.
 
In the home environment I enjoy spending  time out of my wheel chair listening to my DVD’s, due to my autism I often like to listen to these over and over again and I will need you to be patient and help me rewind them to find my favourite bits.
 
I am non verbal and will often communicate through actions and use a system of augmented alternative communication - I will sometimes get frustrated when my needs are not understood.
I can sometimes appear withdrawn and this can be an indicator that I am not happy, anxious or unwell and this may result in me presenting as awkward, difficult or non compliant. In order to build a positive relationship with me and avoid unnecessary anxiety it is important that you understand that I can find change difficult. I function at my best with a structured routine, consistency and continuity and PA’s that are intuitive with my needs. I can be strong willed and it is essential in these circumstances that you are calm and patient in your response.
 
I have epilepsy that is controlled for most of the time with regular medication however there are occasions when my epilepsy can deteriorate and I may require you to intervene with Emergency medication - Training to be given.
 
I use an electric wheelchair outside of the home environment and require my PA’s to operate the controls on my behalf.
 
In the home environment I spend most of my waking hours on the ground floor and will often crawl from one room to another in search of food. I have no awareness of risk and must be observed closely to ensure that I do not come to harm.
 
I access an adapted lift to access the first floor where my bedroom and bathroom are situated.
 
If you feel you have the necessary experience and personal qualities to enable me to maintain my independence at home whilst providing respite/support to my mum, then we’d like to hear from you.  
 
Please apply by completing the application form below and returning to the address stated or via email to dpssrecruitmentline@leics.gov.uk quoting reference number JS379259 or forward an up to date CV to the email address above quoting reference number JS379259.
 
For informal enquiries please contact Jane Simpson on Tel: 0116 305 4886.